Maintenance of Certification in Anesthesiology (MOCA)

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

You may have questions about Maintenance of Certification in Anesthesiology (MOCA®). As your trusted partner in anesthesia continuing education, ASA is here to help you along the way. ASA has the resources you need to succeed and offers educational programs to help you meet the MOCA requirements. 

The following helpful tips will help you navigate your way through the MOCA process:

What is MOCA?

MOCA is an ongoing process of education and assessment for board-certified physicians to improve practice performance. Through MOCA, board-certified physicians demonstrate their commitment to quality clinical outcomes and patient safety.

MOCA is an opportunity for physicians to improve their skills in six general competencies:

  • Medical knowledge
  • Patient care
  • Practice-based learning and improvement
  • Professionalism
  • Interpersonal and communication skills
  • Systems-based practice

Who sets MOCA requirements?

The American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) is charged with implementing MOCA activities that assure the public that its diplomates demonstrate commitment to quality clinical outcomes and patient safety.

The ABA has developed an online MOCA program tutorial to address frequently asked questions and concerns from its constituents.

To find out more about MOCA and the detailed requirements for your cohort, visit the ABA website, email questions to, or call the ABA at 866-999-7501. 

What is the “MOCA cycle”?

MOCA is required for all diplomates certified in 2000 or later. Each MOCA cycle is a 10-year period that includes:

  • Part 1: continuing assessment of professional standing (medical licensure)
  • Part 2: ongoing lifelong learning and self-assessment
  • Part 3: a decennial assessment of cognitive expertise
  • Part 4: periodic assessments of practice performance

How can ASA help you go the distance?

ASA offers several programs designed to help physicians demonstrate a commitment to quality clinical outcomes and patient safety while meeting the requirements for MOCA Parts 2 and 4.

MOCA Part 2:

MOCA Part 4: